Back to News
Advertisement
Advertisement

⚡ Community Insights

Discussion Sentiment

50% Positive

Analyzed from 155 words in the discussion.

Trending Topics

#google#without#photos#nag#end#beaming#cloud#data#photo#app

Discussion (4 Comments)Read Original on HackerNews

dt3ftabout 3 hours ago
Older people (seen it at 65+) will just click the nag without knowing what the button does and end up beaming up all photos to google cloud with no ability to disable the nag (it keeps showing up after a while) even when dismissed. If you are concerned about your data privacy, you may want to check on what photos of say your kids your parents are beaming up to google without their or your knowledge.
nom20 minutes ago
It is worse than that. It fills up your accounts cloud storage, where your Google docs, sheets, drive files etc are stored.

Once full you are caught in their trap: pay a monthly fee to the mafia or delete your data!

This flow is intentional and they have set up everything to bring you there. The Photo-Backup popup (and arguably the whole photo feature) helps to shovel users more quickly to the end of the monetization funnel.

noviaabout 2 hours ago
The answer in the thread (which is quite hard to find) is to use the Google Photos app without an account.

The app has some very nice features that are locked behind account access though.

rootsudoabout 1 hour ago
I wonder why google locked it..