DE version is available. Content is displayed in original English for accuracy.
Advertisement
Advertisement
⚡ Community Insights
Discussion Sentiment
26% Positive
Analyzed from 1325 words in the discussion.
Trending Topics
#don#delete#data#google#deletion#button#photo#lying#understand#cat

Discussion (19 Comments)Read Original on HackerNews
If some users think this, have they question the Why would they do it? Why would Google lose money that way? ToS is irrelevant when it comes to what's running on their own private infra.
It's simple, really. You have a website where people can upload their cat photos. There's a delete button. People click the delete button, read the "This will really Delete your Thing. It's Permanent. You CAN'T GET IT BACK!" warning, and click the confirm button.
Then you get an angry email (and twitter post, and blog entry, and Reddit mob) saying "I can't believe you deleted my photo without asking. That was my favorite cat photo it was my only copy I'LL SUE YOU!@!!"
So you go into your console and flip the .isActive bit back to 1 on that photo, send off your stock apology, and get on with your day.
To run your business any other way is madness. You're not training or selling or otherwise misusing that cat photo. You just don't want to deal with that hassle every day. So you "delete" things by moving them someplace where they're not public anymore.
It's just what you do...
As I said above, the only thing my site does with your cat photo is show it back to you when you ask to look at it. No training. No selling your data to anybody. All I'm doing is storing it because you asked me to, and showing it to the people you ask me to.
You can certainly ask me to stop showing it to people. But please don't get all excited about how your rights have somehow been violated.
The fact is, people click delete buttons without thinking about it. Those people get way more mad when they can't undo that delete than you are now.
“I don’t get it, why do people expect a promise to permanently delete your things to akshually do just that”
Such a goofball stance on the subject tbh.
Deletion means deletion. There is no such thing as 'we didn't delete it just in case you did it by accident.' That is just a convenient excuse for illegally hoarding user data, and the law strictly forbids it. What is their lawful basis under the GDPR to keep it after I demand deletion? Exactly: none at all.
So forwarding it to NYOB is a good choice.
Beautifully crafted ragebait :D
I don’t use Google AI Studio so can’t verify, good luck.
I have mostly resigned myself to watching in unsurprised disgust as tech companies (aided by oodles of HN users who work there!) ruin everything they touch with legal impunity.